Community Council

Iona Community Council meets up to 6 times a year and discusses many aspects of island life and its challenges. The remit of the Community Council is to be a bridge between the community of Iona and, first and foremost, Argyll & Bute Council. If any person has a matter which they would like discussed, then they should bring it to the attention of the Community Council, either by letting the Convenor know in advance, or by bringing the matter up at the meeting under ‘Any Other Business’.

The current Community Councillors for Iona:

Shiona Ruhemann - Convenor
Jane Martin - Secretary
Rob MacManaway - Treasurer
Toben Lewis - Minutes Secretary
Mark Jardine
Katy Russon

Minutes of the most recent Community Council meeting can be found here.

The Community Council can be reached by emailing

The Community Council would like to thank many people for contributing to this website:

Alison and Angus Johnston, Anja Jardine, Carol Kirkpatrick, Darryn James, David Allaway, Elaine McKendrick, Jeff Minter, Joyce Watson, Martin Kubes, Richard Erdal, JP Newell, Joanne MacInnes, Abi Wylde, Peter MacDonald, John Harvey, Morven Gibson, Jane Martin, Joan le Morvan, Dot Stewart, Michael Gordon, Daniel Morgan and Louise Allaway.